The cooperation area

Interreg MED 2014-2020 Cooperation map

In comparison to the 2007-2013 period, the MED cooperation has been slightly changed: Three new regions have joined the programme, namely Lisbon (Portugal), Midi-Pyrénées (France), Valle d’Aoste (Italy). The “Mediterranean dimension” of applicants has been a key argument for their selection, as well as the contribution they could bring to the setting-up of future macro regional and sea basin strategies in the Mediterranean.

This makes totally 57 regions divided among 10 EU Member States and 3 IPA countries.


(EU Member States – three newly joining regions)

  • Croatia: the entire country
  • Cyprus: the entire country
  • France: 5 regions – Corse, Languedoc-Roussillon, Midi-Pyrénées, Provence Alpes Côte d’Azur, Rhône-Alpes
  • Greece: the entire country
  • Italy: 19 regions : Abruzzo, Apulia, Basilicata, Calabria, Campania, Emilia-Romagna, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Lazio, Liguria, Lombardy, Marche, Molise, Piedmonte, Sardinia, Sicily, Tuscany, Umbria, Valle D’Aoste, Veneto
  • Malta: the entire country
  • Portugal: 3 régions: Algarve, Alentejo, Lisbonne
  • Slovenia: the entire country
  • Spain : 6 autonomous regions – Andalusia, Aragon, Catalonia, Balearic islands, Murcia, Valencia – and the two autonomous cities – Ceuta and Melilla
  • United-Kingdom: 1 region of the economic Programme – Gibraltar

 (Participating with the European funds of  IPA)

  • Albania: the entire country
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina: the entire country
  • Montenegro: the entire country