Agreement reached on EU provisions for cooperation programmes

The trilogue negotiations between the Commission, the European Parliament and the Council on the Commission’s proposal for post-2020 Interreg programmes were closed on December 2. It is part of a larger set of legislative proposals for EU cohesion policy.

The new allocated resources for each strand of cooperation were approved: cross-border, transnational, interregional and for the first time, a specific allocation for strengthening exchanges with the 9 outermost regions. Home to 4.8 million citizens, these regions are French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Reunion Island and Saint-Martin (France), Azores and Madeira (Portugal), and the Canary Islands (Spain).

Other key measures for the period 2021-2027 are an increased support for small projects, with up to 20% within an Interreg programme which may be allocated to small project funds, and more resources to be spent on climate action and social programmes, including public health.

Next piece of legislation related to the funding of Interreg programmes will be the adoption of the Multiannual Financial Framework (MFF) Regulation.

More details